NaNoWriMo: Winner!

As of this morning, I hit the 50,000 word mark on my NaNoWriMo novel, The Mad Voyage of Prince Malock. I find this worth noting because it is the first time I have ever hit 50k before the month is even halfway over.

For the last four NaNos, I’ve almost always hit 50k just before, on, or right after Thanksgiving. Nothing wrong with that, of course. Whether you hit 50k on the first day or last, as long as you do it, you already have a chunk of a novel (or, in some cases, an entire novel) finished.

And that’s what NaNoWriMo is really all about anyway: Writing a novel, even if it isn’t very good. 50k is just a way to get you started. Hopefully, if you reach 50k and your novel isn’t done yet, you will try to finish it.

I’m just shocked at how fast I wrote that many words. I suspect it’s because my schedule this year has been a bit different from past years. I’ve been writing two hours a day every day and I am a very fast typist, so two hours is usually enough to get a good chunk of words down. I may blog more about other factors that contributed to this, perhaps in December when this is all over.

My novel still isn’t quite done yet, so I am going to keep writing it until I finish it. I have a feeling the entire novel will be around 100k by the time I finish, but don’t expect to see it published for some time; after all, this is only the first draft and first drafts are rarely, if ever, suited for publication.

What about the rest of y’all? Where are you in your NaNo novel? If you’ve participated in NaNo before, what is the fastest time you’ve ever hit the 50k mark?

-Tim

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: Winner!

  1. I’m not a part of the NaNo crowd, but I’ve chipped away at my outline and gotten about 25k out of it over the past ten days. Most of my time has been filling in the details of each chapter outline because I have so many little details that I want. The other parts have been filling in the details for a major character introduced in the third chapter, she needs to be the most dynamic of all the characters.

    So what are you going to do now? After I hit a comfortable level of material I always spend a couple of days off and reread it, editing a little here and there, and then build off of that. When writing at a clip I’ve found that in rereads there are stories and arcs that I didn’t notice in my writing push. One of the largest themes in my work, the appearance of nihilism and luck as a theme, only appeared when the whole novel was finished and I reread it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

