Preparing my Coffee

Recently, I’ve been drinking a cup of coffee before I write every morning. Because I write early in the morning, I kind of need it so I know what I’m doing.

Originally, I waited until after I wrote to have some coffee because I didn’t want to spend time preparing my coffee that could have been spent writing. That was (and still is) a question I always ask myself when I alter my morning routine: How will this affect my writing time?

But recently I’ve been introduced to a quicker way to prepare coffee in the morning. It’s simple, but would never have crossed my mind until I was shown how to do it, so I’m going to share it here for anyone who might be interested:

Instead of tossing any undrunk coffee down the drain, I would put it in a glass container and then put that in the fridge. The next day, all I needed to do was pull out the container, pour myself a cup, pop it in the microwave for a minute or two, and voila, I have a nice hot cup of coffee ready for drinking.

It’s brilliant. It saves time on preparing coffee (all I need to do is add sugar and creamer). It is not wasteful (throwing coffee down the drain is). And it doesn’t seem to affect the taste very much, from what I can tell.

Of course, we still have to make more coffee when we want more than what we saved, but nonetheless this is still a very useful method. If you are a writer who likes to economize his time (like me), then you should probably try this out.

How do you like to prepare your coffee?

-Tim

Leave a Reply

