What I’m Thankful For

Thanksgiving is a mere two days away. Soon it’ll be here and then it’ll be gone and then Christmas will actually be upon us and things will most likely get even crazier than they already are.

For me, I think my Thanksgiving is going to be a quiet family event this year, as it usually is, and probably even quieter than usual because we’re dealing with an annoying (though not nasty) cold. I hope we’ll all be better by then, but I have a feeling at least one of us will be sick on Thanksgiving, unfortunately.

Yet just because I am sick doesn’t mean I don’t have anything to be thankful for. I have a lot of things to be thankful for (in no particular order):

1. A nice home to live in.

There are a lot of people who don’t even have that. My house isn’t the fanciest or biggest, but it keeps me warm at night and is livable, so I have little to complain about. Plus, it was built in a beautiful part of Texas, so I have the generally beautiful weather and scenery to be thankful for as well.

2. A wonderfully supportive family.

There are unfortunately a lot of people with families who don’t support them and their dreams. That my family wholeheartedly supports my dream to become a professional, full-time writer makes me lucky and I am thankful for them every day.

3. Writing.

Writing is a huge part of who I am. If I were to lose the ability to write — whether through losing the use of my fingers or lacking writing supplies or something else — I am honestly not sure what I’d do. I couldn’t not list writing on a list of things I am thankful for without it feeling incomplete.

4. My health.

Yes, I just complained about being sick, but honestly it’s just a minor cold that will probably go away in a day or two. I’ve been lucky to avoid the major diseases, like cancer, and also major injuries. This is one thing I don’t think I’m as thankful for as I should be, to be honest, so I’ll be sure to be more thankful for this later.

5. The Ambage.

I am thankful for my writers’ group because it was through them that I was first published. Plus, they’re just an overall cool group in general. You guys are awesome.

These are just some of the things I am thankful for. I could probably be here all day listing the things I am thankful for, but I think I’ll stop with these five. Maybe I’ll list some more things later in another post.

What are you thankful for this Thanksgiving?

-Tim

Leave a Reply

