Solitary Walks

One of my favorite activities to do is taking a solitary walk. Especially on beautiful days like today, where the wind is blowing, the sun is shining, and everything seems more alive than usual.

I like to walk by myself because it gives me a lot of privacy and time to think. While I usually do my best thinking in writing, there is something about talking aloud to oneself that cannot be replicated on paper or on a computer screen. I usually come back from those walks with a much clearer idea about what I think or what I need to do.

I am blessed to live in the beautiful Texas hill country, where I sometimes see wild animals on my walks. Around this time of year, I’ve seen quite a few deer, sometimes a squirrel or two. I can never get too close to these animals, of course, because they’re afraid of humans, but just being able to see wild animals like that is something, in my opinion.

If you ever get a chance, try to take a solitary walk through nature. That may be the park, if you live in a city or town, or the countryside if you live in a rural area. A walk might be just what you need to help clear your mind, figure out how to solve a vexing problem, or enjoy nature, all of which are good things to get from a walk.

-Tim

Leave a comment