Speaking Better Spanish

In response to this prompt (yes, I know it was posted a while ago, but it inspired me so I thought I’d write a post about it), I would like to be fluent in Spanish. I already know some Spanish from Spanish lessons I took a while ago and I can even read and write in it to an extent, but I’d hardly call myself fluent in the language.

If I was fluent in Spanish, the first thing I’d do is translate some of my stories into Spanish. That way, I wouldn’t have to pay a translator to translate my stories and I could expand my audience beyond the English-speaking world.

Not only that, but it would force me to look at my stories with new eyes. While I’m no translator, I understand translations well enough to realize that it’s not easy to translate a story from one language into another, even when the languages are as similar to each other as English and Spanish are. Doing my own translations would force me to think more carefully about what I meant when I used this word or wrote that sentence, which in turn might help me become a better writer.

At any rate, learning Spanish would also help me communicate with many of my fellow human beings better, which is in itself a good prize, if I do say so myself.

-Tim

Leave a Reply

