Looking Back: 2014

2014 is nearly over, with a mere three days left in the year before 2015 starts. I thought I’d take this time to look back on my year, with another post tomorrow talking about what I plan to do next year (which will be the special announcements post I mentioned a while ago).

In 2014, I published:

-Four full-length novels (which you can read about here)
-Three short stories
-One novella
-One collection

Here are the covers for the books I put out this year:

the mad voyage of prince malock ebook coverThe Return of Prince Malock ebook coverThe New Era of Prince Malock ebook coverthe coronation of prince malock ebooktheactivistorthesnake'schuckleebookcovercollectiontheactivistorthesnake'schuckleebookcoverthe creators dilemma ebook coverthe gift of valgink ebook coverthe most beautiful island in the world cover

That’s quite the impressive amount of content for one writer to publish in six months (I published the first novel back in June).* I anticipate writing and publishing MUCH more stories in 2015 now that I’ve figured out how to write and publish well and quickly (though that’s for tomorrow’s post).

I’ve also grown as a writer and independent publisher. I have a better understanding of the publishing industry and my own identity as a writer, although I still have a long ways to go before I can consider myself a master by any definition of the word.

Basically, I see 2014 as the year I first started taking writing and publishing seriously. I mean, I’ve been writing in one form or another since I was 12, but this is the year I decided to make a full-fledged business about it. I think I’ve learned more about the business of writing in the past 12 months than in all previous years. I mean, I started my own publishing company, which is definitely a move I did not see myself making when I first began scribbling bad fanfics so many years ago (although I consider it one of the wisest moves I’ve made as an indie so far).

And there’s STILL a lot to learn and master, so I imagine I will be quite busy for some time to come.

Sadly, I was hoping to get Not Malicious. Just Unlucky and the Prince Malock World Omnibus out before year’s end, but I think they will have to wait until January of next year. Nonetheless, I will get them out and make sure that they are available in as many places as possible, per my modus operandi as an indie publisher.

All in all, I am pretty happy with 2014, despite some of the problems I’ve faced as a writer. Tomorrow, I will do a post about my plans for 2015, including one very major one for subscribers of this blog, a development that I think will be really great. Stay tuned for that.

*Yes, I am aware that the novella and the collection have bad covers. One of my goals for 2015 is to get those things redesigned. I am only showing them off so that the cover collection here is complete.

Leave a Reply

